A Mint and Citrus Vinaigrette

I just returned from England, where my grandmother lives. The majority of my vacation was spent in St. Mawes, a small fishing village in the Southwest county of Cornwall.  Apart from kayaking, hiking along coastal paths, and swimming in the freezing ocean I spent a lot of time eating.  Actually, I spent most of my time eating.  I ate my fare share of Cornish pasties, local mussels, and fish and chips.

This week, in attempt to be healthy and get back on track, I went to my local supermarket and stocked up on a good selection of fresh vegetables, herbs, and fruits.  In particular, I bought some fresh mint, lemons, and limes so that I could make vinaigrette for salad.  The following recipe was actually inspired by the food that I ate on the airplane on my way back from England.  Before you get scared and stop reading, I should clarify that I purchased a salad from the EAT shop at Heathrow and brought it onto the plane with me (Virgin Atlantic’s food has never inspired me to cook anything).  My salad contained shredded beats, carrots, mesclun greens, goat cheese, spelt, edamame, and lentils. It was colorful and the perfect remedy to the plain brown food that greeted me in Economy class.  The best part was actually the mint vinaigrette that was served with the salad. It was fresh, citrusy, and lively.  It would be perfect on a bed of mixed greens, but I also think that it would be a delicious dressing for roasted zucchini or any number of summer salads.  If, like me, you are weary of the traditional balsamic or Dijon vinaigrette, try this recipe the next time that you make a salad!

Mint and Citrus Vinaigrette (makes 1/2 cup)

Ingredients:

  • Juice of 1 lemon (~ 2 tbsp)
  • Juice of 1 lime (~ 2 tbsp)
  • 1 tsp Champagne vinegar (white wine vinegar can be substituted)
  • 8 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Fresh Mint (finely chopped)

Instructions:

  1. Combine the lemon juice, lime juice, and Champagne vinegar in a small bowl
  2. Slowly whisk in the Extra Virgin Olive Oil until the mixture is emulsified
  3. Whisk in chopped mint leaves
  4. Season with salt and pepper to taste (be generous with the salt, dressings should be seasoned well!)
  5. Allow the vinaigrette to sit for approximately 15 minutes so that the flavors have time to develop
5 thoughts on “A Mint and Citrus Vinaigrette

    1. ML Davidson

      This recipe has inspired me to go get some ingredients and I try a new dressing for salds. Yes, I am weary of the same old vinaigrette. Nice blog!

      ML Davidson

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Lamb Meatballs with Heirloom Tomato Farro Salad | Sunday Suppers with Pippa

  2. Pingback: Mango Goat Cheese Salad w. Mustard Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe « ThatsZoGood

  3. Pingback: Mango Goat Cheese Salad w. Mustard Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe | ThatsZoGood.

Leave a Reply

